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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING 

GUIDELINES FOR REAL ESTATE LICENSING IN WISCONSIN 
 
The Department and the Real Estate Board are responsible for the regulation of the real estate profession in the State of 
Wisconsin. The Department works with the Real Estate Board and the Council on Real Estate Curriculum and 
Examinations to determine and establish the policies and procedures relating to real estate education, examinations and 
licensing. 
 
Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25 establishes the requirements relating to the approval of schools, courses and instructors.  
Schools offering real estate pre-licensing courses for the salesperson's and broker's licenses and for the continuing 
education program are approved by the Department based on the criteria set forth in Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25.  
The contents of the salesperson's and broker's pre-licensing courses are prescribed in Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25. 
 
Completion of the prelicense educational requirements is necessary for salesperson and for broker. 
 

SALESPERSON'S LICENSE 
 
To obtain an original salesperson's license, an applicant must meet one of the educational requirements established in 
Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25.03, Wis. Adm. Code.  These are: 
 
1) Attendance at and completion of the 72-hour pre-licensing educational program approved by the Department in 

accordance with Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25 (a listing of approved schools is available from the Department 
upon request),   OR 

2) Completion of 10 semester-hour credits in real estate or real estate related law courses at an accredited institution of 
higher education (college, university or technical college).  (A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a semester hour 
credit.) 

 
BROKER'S LICENSE 

 
To obtain an original broker's license, an applicant must either possess an active salesperson's license or have taken the 
salesperson's education and passed the salesperson's exam, and must comply with one of the following broker's 
educational requirements, as specified in Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25.02: 
 
1) Attendance at and completion of the 72-hour educational program approved by the Department in accordance with 

Wis. Admin. Code ch. REEB 25 (a list of approved schools is available from the Department upon request),   OR 
 
2) Completion of 20 semester-hour credits in real estate or real estate related law courses at an accredited institution of 

higher education, such as a college, university or technical college.  (A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a semester 
hour credit),   OR 

 
3) Licensure to practice law in Wisconsin. 
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OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS 
 
Applicants who already are licensed in another state or who held an active license in another state within the past two 
years must complete a special 13-hour salesperson’s course to be licensed as a salesperson in Wisconsin and an 
additional 3-hour broker’s course to be licensed as a broker in Wisconsin.  The credit hour waivers and the attorney’s 
waiver also apply.  Refer to "Wisconsin Real Estate Licensing Requirements for Persons Licensed in Another State" 
(Form #2083). 
 

EXAMINATIONS 
 
The salesperson’s and broker’s exams are administered on computer by appointment in Green Bay, Madison, Wausau, 
WI, Edina & Duluth, MN and Chicago, IL. 
 
Applicants may obtain exam information from PearsonVue (888-204-6284) or at http://pearsonvue.com.  
 

INDIVIDUALS & BUSINESS ENTITIES 
 
An individual or a "business entity," such as a corporation, a partnership or syndicate, limited liability company, limited 
liability partnership, an association, a business trust or a joint venture, or an individual may be licensed as a broker in 
Wisconsin. 
 
If an individual engages in the practice of real estate in Wisconsin in the name of or under the authority of a business 
entity, the business entity must be licensed.  Otherwise, the individual would have to practice in his or her own name, 
assuming he or she is licensed as a Wisconsin broker. 
 
The Department may only license a business entity if the entity has at least one "business representative" (i.e., director, 
manager, member, officer, owner or partner) who is licensed as a Wisconsin broker.  In such case, that broker will be 
responsible for compliance with the license law and for supervising any salespersons licensed in Wisconsin and 
associated with that entity.  Only Wisconsin licensed business representatives or associates may engage in the practice of 
real estate in Wisconsin.  Other unlicensed business representatives of a company may not personally engage in the 
practice of real estate in Wisconsin. 
 
Application for licensure of a business entity may be made by completing the Application for Real Estate Business Entity 
License (Form #815).  The license fee is $75 for the remaining portion of the 2-year licensing biennium which runs from 
January 1 of an odd-numbered year to December 31 of an even-numbered year. 
 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
Effective December 15, 2008 all licensees must complete 18 hours of continuing education for each licensing biennium. 
 

http://pearsonvue.com/

	Committed to Equal Opportunity in Employment and Licensing

