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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING 
 

PROCEDURES FOR CERTIFICATION OF PROFICIENCY TO CARRY A FIREARM 

INTRODUCTION 

An owner or officer of a licensed private detective agency (note that private security companies are licensed as private 
detective agencies) must obtain a permit from the Department of Safety and Professional Services for each officer or 
employee who will carry a firearm while on duty as a private security person.  The permit is based on the certification of a 
department-approved firearms proficiency certifier that the owner or employee has successfully completed required 
firearms training.  It is also conditioned on the following: 

The circumstances of an assignment give rise to a substantial need for being armed. 
The agency has submitted a firearms policy to the Department. 
The owner or employee is not prohibited from possessing a firearm by state or federal law. 
The person carrying the firearm must be in uniform and on duty. 

APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT 

The Department has developed 3 forms relating to certification of firearms proficiency: 

Form #467 Firearms Certification of Proficiency - Initial Certification 

Form #2117 Firearms Certification of Proficiency – Renewal 

Form #2118 Firearms Certification of Proficiency - Change of Employer or Additional Employer 

The first 2 forms contain information about the person who will carry the firearm and about the training he or she has 
received.  They must be signed by an owner or officer of the private security company, by the firearms certifier and by the 
person who will carry the weapon.  The third form must be submitted to the Department when a person transfers to a new 
employer or works for another employer and will carry a firearm when placed on duty by that employer. 

QUALIFICATIONS OF A PERSON WHO WILL CARRY FIREARM 

Training.  A person for whom an initial permit is being obtained must have successfully completed the required 36 hours 
of training which is based on the latest approved edition of Firearms-A Training Guide for Law Enforcement Officers 
which the Law Enforcement Standards Bureau has approved for training law enforcement officers.  The Wisconsin 
Administrative Code §RL 34.03 provides more information about the required training. 

A person for whom a permit renewal is being obtained must complete a 6-hour refresher course which more briefly covers 
the contents of the 36-hour course. 

A person who has not obtained a certificate of proficiency within the 5 years preceding the date of application for a 
permit, must complete the full 36-hour course. 

A person from another licensing jurisdiction (state, province, etc.) for whom an initial permit is being obtained in 
Wisconsin may satisfy the training requirement by successfully completing the 6-hour refresher course, provided that the 
following conditions apply: 

The person had received at least 30 hours of firearms training in the other jurisdiction. 

The person was authorized by the other jurisdiction or a governmental agency to carry a firearm while on duty as a 
peace officer, a security person or a private detective at any time during the 5 years preceding application for a permit. 
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Conviction of Crime.  A person who has been convicted of a felony, unless pardoned, may not receive a firearms permit 
from the Department.  A person who has been convicted of one or more misdemeanors may be approved, depending on 
the nature of the crime, the number of crimes, and evidence of rehabilitation. 

REQUIREMENTS PERTAINING TO PEACE OFFICERS 

A person who is a peace officer, as defined in Wis. Stats. § 939.22(22), Stats., may carry on, about or near his or her 
person a firearm, concealed or otherwise, when acting as a private detective or private security person, if the peace officer 
obtains a firearms permit from the Department.   

APPROVAL OR DENIAL 

The Department will review the application for permit and grant a permit for those who qualify.  The permit will be valid 
for one year and the date of expiration will be printed on the permit. 

If the Department denies the application, the Department will send the applicant a formal Notice of Denial and offer the 
applicant an opportunity for a hearing. 

APPROVED FIREARMS CERTIFIERS 

Firearms certifiers must be approved by the Department before certifying that a person has completed the required 
firearms training.  A form, entitled APPROVAL OF FIREARMS PROFICIENCY CERTIFIERS (Form #2154), and an 
application form is available from the Department.  Firearms certifiers provide training in indoor or outside firing ranges 
which they own, lease or use.  The Department maintains a current list of approved firearms proficiency certifiers on the 
Department’s website at http://dsps.wi.gov/prof/fire/form.htm.   

FALSIFICATION OF CERTIFICATION 

The urgency of certain situations may occasionally tempt a private detective/security guard agency to place a person on 
duty with a firearm before a permit has been obtained or may tempt a company or employee to falsify the certification of 
training.  Such falsification would be ill-advised, considering that the Department will treat such matters seriously and 
pursue disciplinary action against the agency, and also considering the agency’s liability exposure if an improperly trained 
person causes serious injury to another while on duty, and, finally, considering that those who provide false information 
on an application may be charged with the crime of false swearing. 

RESTRICTIONS ON CARRYING A FIREARM 

Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle.  Wis. Admin. Code §RL 34.011 states the conditions under which a security guard may 
carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle.  One of the conditions is that the firearm must be in plain view.  For example, the 
firearm may not be under the seat, in the glove compartment, under the security guard’s uniform, in a briefcase, etc.  If the 
firearm is a handgun, it must be in a holster.  If it is other than a handgun (such as a shot gun), it must be in a device inside 
the vehicle which locks the firearm in position and prevents an unauthorized person from removing it from the locking 
device.  Other conditions are:  the person must be in uniform, the person must be on duty as a security guard and the 
person must have a valid firearms permit from the Department. 

Concealed Firearm.  No person, including persons who have received a permit from the Department, may carry a 
concealed weapon while on duty as a security guard (including a bodyguard), unless the person is a peace officer. 


