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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR A NEW SALESPERSON LICENSE 
(Brokers see page 2) 

If you are a resident of Wisconsin applying for a new license you may apply by submitting:  
• Form #809, Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
• Evidence that you satisfied the education requirement 
• Evidence that you passed the salesperson examination 
• $75.00 credentialing fee  

Education: Submit one of the following as proof of completion of the education requirement: 
• Certificate of completion of salesperson’s 72-hour education program from an approved school 
• Transcript showing 10 academic semester-hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning in real 

estate or real estate- related law.  

Examination: Submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the salesperson exam. 
Exam results expire after 1 year. 

If you hold a credential in Illinois or Indiana you may apply by reciprocity by submitting: 
• Form #809, Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
• Evidence you hold an active salesperson* license in good standing obtained by examination in Illinois or Indiana.  
• $72.00 reciprocal licensing fee  

Education: The education requirement is waived.  

Examination: Submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the Wisconsin-specific 
salesperson exam. Exam results expire after 1 year.  

*In Illinois, a broker is the equivalent of a Wisconsin salesperson.  

If you have held a salesperson license issued by another state in the past two years you may apply by submitting:  
• Form #809, Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
• Form #2688, Verification of Registration  
• Evidence that you satisfied the education requirement 
• Evidence that you passed the salesperson examination 
• $75.00 credentialing fee  

Education: Submit one of the following as proof of completion of the education requirement: 
• Copy of certificate of completion of salesperson’s 13-hour education program from an approved school 
• Copy of transcript showing 10 academic semester-hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning 

in real estate or real estate- related law.  

Examination: Submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the Wisconsin-specific 
salesperson exam. Exam results expire after 1 year.  

All salesperson applicants: If you have a prospective broker-employer you must complete Section B of the application 
form.  If the license is issued without registering a broker-employer on this form, you will not be able to operate as a 
salesperson until you submit a Notice of Real Estate Employment (Form #812) and a $10 fee.   
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR A NEW BROKER LICENSE 

If you are a resident of Wisconsin applying for a new license you may apply by submitting: 
• Form #809, Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
• Evidence that you satisfied the education requirement 
• Evidence that you passed the broker examination 
• Evidence that you are a licensed salesperson or have passed the salesperson exam 
• $75.00 credentialing fee  

Education: Submit one of the following as proof of completion of the education requirement: 
• Copy of certificate of completion of broker’s 72-hour education program from an approved school 
• Copy of transcript showing 20 academic semester-hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning 

in real estate or real estate- related law.  
• Evidence that you are licensed to practice law in Wisconsin  

If you are not a licensed salesperson you will also have to submit a copy of the certification of completion of the 
salesperson’s 72-hour education program from an approved school.  

Examination: Submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the broker exam. Exam 
results expire after 1 year.  

If you are not a licensed salesperson you will also have to submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE 
showing that you passed the salesperson exam.  

If you hold a credential in Illinois or Indiana you may apply by reciprocity by submitting: 
• Form #809, Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
• Evidence you hold an active broker* license in good standing obtained by examination in IL or IN  
• $72.00 reciprocal licensing fee  

Education: The education requirement is waived.  

Examination: Submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the Wisconsin-specific 
broker exam. Exam results expire after 1 year.  

*In Illinois, a broker-manager is the equivalent of a Wisconsin broker.  

If you have held a salesperson license issued by another state in the past two years you may apply by submitting:  
• Form #809, Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
• Form #2688, Verification of Registration  
• Evidence that you satisfied the education requirement 
• Evidence that you passed the salesperson examination 
• $75.00 credentialing fee  

Education: Submit one of the following as proof of completion of the education requirement: 
• Copy of certificate of completion of salesperson’s 3-hour education program from an approved school 
• Copy of transcript showing 20 academic semester-hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning 

in real estate or real estate- related law.  
• Evidence that you are licensed to practice law in Wisconsin.  

Examination: Submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the Wisconsin-specific 
salesperson exam. Exam results expire after 1 year.  
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS OF BOTH SALESPERSON AND BROKER LICENSES 

To schedule an examination: Contact Pearson VUE by calling 1-888-204-6284 or visiting their web site at:  
http://www.pearsonvue.com/wi/realestate/ 

All non-resident applicants for salesperson and broker license: Complete form #813, Irrevocable Consent by 
Nonresident Applicant for Service of Process. Non-resident salespersons and brokers who will be employed by a licensed 
Wisconsin broker located in this state must have Section B on the Application for New Salesperson or Broker License 
(form #809) completed by the broker-employer prior to being issued a license by reciprocity. 

License renewal and continuing education: All licenses expire on December 14th of each even-numbered year. 
Renewal notices are mailed in November of even-numbered years.   

If this application is for your FIRST real estate license and is received by the Department after November 1 of an 
even-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of the following biennium and you will not be required to renew 
until the end of the following biennium.   

To renew, you will be required to complete 18 hours of pre-approved continuing education.  

Name and address changes: You are required by sec. 440.11 stats. to notify the Department of any name or address 
changes within 30 days.  Failure to comply may subject you to a $50 fine. 

Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code relating to the practice of real estate is available on the web at 
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/ You may purchase a copy from Document Sales, Department of Administration by 
calling 800-362-7253 or 608-264-9419 or by email at docsales@doa.state.wi.us. 
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