
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services 
 Mail To: P.O. Box 8935 1400 E. Washington Avenue 
 Madison, WI 53708-8935 Madison, WI 53703 
 FAX #: (608) 261-7083 E-Mail: dsps@wisconsin.gov  
 Phone #: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov  

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR EXAMINING BOARD 

EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS  
 
Applicants applying for the Wisconsin Nursing Home Administrators examination must file two (2) separate applications 
and fees.  
 
I. FILING ELIGIBILITY APPLICATION WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES (DSPS):  
 

All new first time applicants in Wisconsin must submit the following to the DSPS to determine eligibility to sit 
for the examinations:  

 
 1. Request to Apply for Examination (Form #1573)  

 2. Fee 

 3. Request for CIB Information (Form #2375)  

 4. Verification of Licensure (Form #419) (This form is for reciprocal applicants only.)  
 
 Completed eligibility application materials and fee must be mailed to the Department at the address listed above.  

Eligibility applications hand-delivered or mailed by special courier must be delivered to the Department’s street 
address: 1400 E. Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703. 

 
 You will be notified by the Department of your eligibility to sit for the examination.  
 
 Retake applicants must submit the Request to Apply for Examination (Form #1573) and the fee to DSPS.  
 
II. FILING SCHEDULING APPLICATION WITH PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATION SERVICE 

(PES):  
 
 Professional Examination Service (PES) will administer the National examination prepared by the National 

Association of Boards of Examiners for Nursing Home Administration (NAB) and the Wisconsin State Law 
examination.   Applicants are encouraged by NAB to apply online for the examination at www.proexam.org.nab. 

 
 The cost to apply online is $375.00 for the NAB exam and $190.00 for the Wisconsin State Law exam paid by 

credit card.  For applicants without access to a computer or an email account, a paper-based application form may 
be submitted to PES.  There is an additional $75.00 fee charged by PES for submitting a paper-based application.  
Please contact the DSPS at dsps@wi.gov if you need to complete the paper-based application form. 

 
 Retake applicants must submit the scheduling application and fee to PES. 
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III. FEE PAYMENT SCHEDULE: 
 

EXAM ELIGIBILITY AMOUNT PAYABLE TO DSPS AMOUNT PAYABLE TO NAB 
BY CREDIT CARD 

New Applicants 
(taking both the National and State 
exams) 

$98.00 Total Fee 
($75.00 Initial Credential fee; $15.00 DSPS Contract 
fee and $8.00 CIB Background Check fee) 
 

$565.00 Total Fee 
($375.00 National exam; $190.00 
State exam) 

Reciprocity Applicants 
(taking the State exam only) 

$193.00 Total Fee 
($170.00 Reciprocity Credential fee; $15.00 DSPS 
Contract fee and $8.00 CIB Background Check fee) 
 

$190.00 (State exam) 

RETAKE EXAM ELIGIBILITY AMOUNT PAYABLE TO DSPS AMOUNT PAYABLE TO NAB 
BY CREDIT CARD

Retaking WI State Exam  $15.00 (DSPS Contract fee) $190.00 (State exam) 

Retaking NAB Exam  $15.00 (DSPS Contract fee) $375.00 (National exam) 
 
 
IV. EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE: (not required prior to examination) 
 

The examinations will be taken on a computer through a Prometric Technology Center located in each state on a 
weekly basis.  To take the computer-based examination, no prior knowledge of computers is needed.  Before the 
examination begins, a simple introductory lesson explains the process of selecting answers and moving around in 
the examination.  Applicants are given three (3) hours to take the NAB exam and one (1) hour and 40 minutes to 
take the State Law exam. 

 
The Nursing Home Administrator’s licensure examination is a 2-part examination.  The first part is the National 
examination prepared by the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Nursing Home Administration 
(NAB).  The second part is the Wisconsin State Law examination.  Applicants for initial licensure must 
successfully complete both parts of the examination.  Reciprocal applicants who have successfully completed the 
NAB examination in another state are only required to take the Wisconsin State Law examination.  The passing 
scaled score on the State Law exam is 64 and 113 on the NAB exam. 

 
The content of the National examination can be accessed at either www.nabweb.org or at www.proexam.org.nab.  
The content for the State Law examination is listed on the next page of this form. 
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Applicants will be taking the “State Based Law” exam through Professional Examination Service (PES).  The 
exam will consist of 85 multiple-choice questions.  A minimum-scaled score of 64 is required to pass.  The exam 
covers the following chapters from both the Department of Health Services (DHS) and the Department of Safety 
and Professional Services (DSPS): 

 

CONTENT AREA 

 General (DHS 132.1) 
 Enforcement (DHS 132.2) 
 Resident Rights and Protections (DHS 132.3)
 Management (DHS 132.4) 
 Admissions, Retentions and Removals (DHS 132.5)
 Services (DHS 132.6) 
 Physical Environment (DHS 132.7)
 Life Safety, Design and Construction (DHS 132.8)
 Uniform Licensure (DHS Ch 50)

Powers and Duties 50.03
Special Provisions 50.04
Monitor / Receiver 50.05
Prohibited Acts  50.07
Rights of Residents 50.09

 Education (DSPS – NHA 3) 
 Standards of Conduct (DSPS – NHA 5)
 Impaired Professionals Procedure (DSPS - SPS 7)
 Certification/Training of Assistants and Aides (DHS 129)
 Caregiver Misconduct (DHS 13.05)

 
V. EDUCATION: 

 A. DEFINITIONS 

 Wis. Admin. Code. sec. NHA 2.02, requires completion of one of the following academic programs: 

 1) “Program of Study” means a prescribed sequence of courses offered by a university or college, accredited 
by a regional or National accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, which 
consists of at least one (1) course of three (3) credit hours in each of the following: 

(a) Laws governing the operation of licensed nursing homes; 
(b) Elements of proper and effective administration of licensed nursing homes; 
(c) Protection of the interests, safety and well-being of residents; and 
(d) Psychological, physical, medical and social needs of residents. 
 

2) “Regular Course of Study” means a prescribed program of courses offered by a university or college, 
accredited by a regional or National accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, 
which leads to an associate, baccalaureate, master or doctoral degree and which includes a program of 
study and a supervised clinical practicum. 
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  3) “Specialized Courses” means individual courses offered by one or more educational institutions or course 

providers that lead to adequate preparation in each of the following general subject areas in nursing home 
administration: 

 
(a) Administration of a nursing home 
(b) Long-term patient care 
(c) Organizations of health-care systems 

 
 B. APPROVED COURSES 
 
 Wis. Admin. Code, sec. NHA 3.01, requires all regular courses of study, programs of study and specialized 

courses be approved by the Board.  Courses are approved only on the basis that they meet the requirement as 
specified in Wis. Stats. sec. 456.04(4).  It is not within the authority, nor is it the intent, of the Board to either 
endorse or recommend any educational program as adequate preparation for the examination or for the 
general practice of nursing home administration.  Courses and programs other than those listed will be 
considered on the basis of information submitted by the applicant.  This information should include course or 
program content and description as provided by the school or educational agency. 

 
1) REGULAR COURSE OF STUDY: (the following courses have been approved by the Board) 

 
Concordia University-Wisconsin, Bachelor of Arts Degree in Health Care Administration 
12800 N. Lake Shore Drive, Mequon, WI 53092-7699, (414) 243-5700  
 
St. Joseph's College, Long-Term Care Administration P.O. Box 1198, North Windham, ME 04062-1198, 
(800) 343-5498  

 
Southern College of Seventh-Day Adventists, Bachelor of Science Degree in Long-Term Health 
Care Administration P.O. Box 370, Collegedale, TN 37315-0370, (615) 238-2754 

 
Southwest Texas State University, Bachelor of Science in Health Professions, Major: Long-Term 
Health Care Administration 601 Univeristy Dr., San Marcos, TX 78666, (512) 245-3556 

 
Suny Institute of Technology, Bachelor of Professional Studies and Bachelor of Science in Health 
Service Management, Nursing Home Administration Track P.O. Box 3050, Utica, NY 13504-3050, 
(315) 792-7429 

 
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, NHA Baccalaureate Program 105 Garfield Ave.,  Eau Claire, 
WI 54701, (715) 836-2628 

 
University of Minnesota, LTC Program Center for LTC Administration Education, C309 Mayo Memorial 
Bldg., P.O. Box 907, 420 Delaware St., S.E., Minneapolis, MN 55455, (612) 624-5159 

 
University of Scranton, Health Administration, Concentration in Long-Term Care Administration 
Department of Human Resources, 800 Linden Street, Scranton, PA 18510-4597, (717) 941-4350 

 

 

 

#683 (Rev. 3/15) 
Ch. 456, Stats.  Page 4 of 7 

Committed to Equal Opportunity in Employment and Licensing 

 



Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services 
 

Viterbo College, Bachelor of Business Administration with Specialization in Health Care 
Administration 815 South 9th Street, La Crosse, WI 54601  

 
Xavier University, Graduate Program in Hospital and Health Administration declaring nine 
(9) hours of concentration in Gerontology 3800 Victory Pkwy., Cincinnati, OH 45207, (513) 745-3392  

 
2) SPECIALIZED COURSES: (the following courses have been approved by the Board) 
 

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Health and Aging Services Administration (HASA) Certificate 
105 Garfield Ave, P.O. Box 4004 Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004, (715) 836-3636 (No longer being 
offered.) 
 
University of Wisconsin-Madison Extension, NHA Long-Term Care 21 N. Park Street, 7th Floor, 
Madison, WI 53715, (608) 262-1156  

 
Ohio State University, NHA Core of Knowledge Course, College of Business, Executive Education 
941 Chatham Lane, Columbus, OH 43221, (614) 442-1316  

 
St. Mary's College, MA in Human and Health Services Administration Minneapolis Graduate Center, 
2510 Park Ave., S., Minneapolis, MN 55404, (612) 874-9877  

 
St. Joseph's College, General Health Care Administration P.O. Box 1198, North Windham, 
ME 04062-1198, (800) 343-5498 (Candidates completing this program are also required to complete 
and additional course in long-term patient care.)  

 
University of North Carolina, Long -Term Care Administration LTCE #201 and LTCE #202 
706 Greenwood Rd., Chapel Hill, NC  27514, (919) 929-4454  
 

3) PROGRAM OF STUDY: (the following program has been approved by the Board) 
 

Ottawa University-Milwaukee 300 N. Corporate Drive # 110, Brookfield WI 53045, (262) 879-0200 
 
To satisfy the educational requirement under a Program of Study, a student must complete all of the 
following courses: 

a. OAD 46364 Comprehensive Long-Term Health Care (4 credits) 
b. HUS 30154 Issues in Gerontology (4 credits) 
c. OAD 46164 Long-Term Care Policy and Regulation (4 credits) 
d. OAD 37064 Long-Term Care Administration (4 credits) 

 
VI. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY: 
 

The Board at its discretion and otherwise subject to laws pertaining to licensure of Nursing Home Administrators 
may grant a license as a Nursing Home Administrator to an applicant who holds a current license issued by the 
proper authorities in any other jurisdiction, which has not been revoked or suspended, upon payment of the fee 
and submission of evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has satisfied all of the following: 

 
1. Has a bachelor’s degree in any field that was obtained from an accredited college or university or holds a 

current certification as a Nursing Home Administrator granted by the American College of Health Care 
Administrators; 
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2. Has practiced as a Nursing Home Administrator for at least 2,000 hours in any consecutive 3-year period 
within the 5-year period immediately preceding the date of application for licensure;  

3. Has passed the Wisconsin State Law examination required for licensure; and 

4. Does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to Wis. Stats . ss. 111.321; 111.322 and 111.335,.  An 
applicant who has a pending criminal charge or has a conviction record shall provide the Board with all 
related information necessary for the Board to determine whether the circumstances of the pending charge or 
conviction substantially relate to the practice of nursing home administration.  

Verification of Current Licensure (Form #419) must be completed by each state licensing Board or agency in 
which you hold a credential (license).  A photocopy of the credential (license) is not acceptable. 

An official transcript must be submitted with your application to verify your bachelor’s degree in any field.  If 
you have not received a bachelor’s degree, you will then need to submit a current certification as a Nursing Home 
Administrator granted by the American College of Health Care Administrators at: 325 South Patrick St, 
Alexandria, VA 22314. 

Along with your examination materials, you must submit evidence of having practiced as a Nursing Home 
Administrator for at least 2,000 hours in any consecutive 3-year period within the 5-year period immediately 
preceding the date of application.  Please complete the enclosed Reciprocity Experience Record (Form #2470). 

The Nursing Home Administrator license expires on June 30 of the even numbered year. 
 
VII. ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR 

CREDENTIAL BY EXAMINATION: (this section applies only to initial licensure applicants, not to 
reciprocity applicants) 

 In addition to successful completion of the examination, Wis. Admin. Code. sec. NHA 4.01(1) requires an 
applicant to meet certain experience requirements to obtain a Nursing Home Administrator credential.  You will 
be provided with the Application for Licensure (Form #418) and Verification of Experience in the Field of 
Institutional Administration (Form #71).  You will be required to complete the forms and return to DSPS for 
processing. 

An applicant for the examination is not required to have completed the experience requirement prior to taking the 
examinations.  Upon passing the required examinations, an applicant must complete the following experience 
requirement according to the type of education completed: 

Regular Course of Study: A successful completion of a supervised clinical practicum, which means work 
experience acquired in a nursing home in conjunction with the approved program (refer to the definition found in 
Wis. Admin. Code. sec. NHA 1.02(9).) 

Program of Study:  Successful completion of one year of experience in the field of institutional administration as 
defined in Wis. Admin. Code. sec. NHA 1.02(1). 

Specialized Course:  Successful completion of one year of experience in the field of institutional administration 
as defined in Wis. Admin. Code. sec. NHA 1.02(1). 

The Experience is not required to be completed prior to taking the examination.  Experience in the field of 
institutional administration is defined in Wis. Admin. Code sec. NHA 1.02(1). 

The Nursing Home Administrator license expires on June 30 of the even numbered year. 
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VIII. REFUND/POSTPONEMENT POLICY: 

 
The refund and postponement policy for examination candidates is covered in Wis. Admin. Code sec. SPS 4.06. 

 
SPS 4.06 REFUNDS 

(1) A refund of all but $10.00 of the applicant’s examination fee and initial credential fee submitted to DSPS is 
granted if any of the following occurs: 

(a) An applicant is found to be unqualified for an examination administered by the authority; 
(b) An applicant is found to be unqualified for a credential for which no examination is required;  
(c) An applicant withdraws an application by written notice to the authority at least 10-days in advance of 

any scheduled examination; or 
(d) An applicant who fails to take an examination administered by the authority either provides written notice 

at least 10-days in advance that the applicant is unable to take the examination, or if written notice was 
not provided, submits a written explanation satisfactory to the authority that the applicant’s failure to take 
the examination resulted from extreme personal hardship.  

 
(2) An applicant eligible for a refund may forfeit the refund and choose instead to take an examination 

administered within 18 months of the originally scheduled examination at no added charge.  
 

(3) An applicant who misses an examination as a result of being called to active military duty shall receive a full 
refund.  The applicant requesting the refund must supply a copy of the call up orders or a letter from the 
Commanding Officer attesting to the call up.  

 
(4) Applicants who pay fees to service providers other than the Department are subject to the refund policy 

established by the service provider.  
 

IX. PUBLICATION REQUEST: 
 

You may access a copy of the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code Relating to the Practice of Nursing 
Home Administrators on the Department’s website 

 
 

X. NAME AND ADDRESS CHANGE: 
 
 Any applicant scheduled for the examination that changes his or her name or address should notify DSPS and the 

PES. 
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